Garden plotting

Pots

I’ve been sorting through my seeds today. It turns out I have a lot of out of date packets. By out of date I mean beyond redemption.

Here is what I have left, plus some restocked from the garden centre.

IMG_2990

So I’m planning to plant the following veg – (I’m mostly a veg girl)

Broad beans – love how they pop out so vibrantly green. This year’s varieties Aguadulce / Crimson.

Peas / Mange Tout – Mange Tout are one of my favourites, and easy to grow. This year I’m trying Tendrilla / Shiraz / maybe Onward or Cavalier too. Normally for Mange Tout I like to grow Carouby de Maupassant, but I haven’t found any yet this year. They have a lovely pink flower and taste nice too.

French beans – I will probably grow these too, but I’m so very tired of the slugs eating mine the moment the shots are planted out. I think I’ll invest in some larger plants this year.

Mange Tout

Broccoli – a bit of sprouting

Cabbage – I hated this as a youngster but now I must admit I like a few leaves

Tuscan Kale – this is a fab veg – it always takes a bit to get going, and the caterpillars have a good go, but they are tasty and you can just pick the leaves you need from the plant

Carrots – I don’t have great success with carrots – but I might try a few this year, not sure which ones I’ll plant yet

Courgettes – always good – although usually they arrive en mass – this year I’m trying Soleil / Zucchini

Cucumber – I’ve only grown them once before, but they were tasty (although not too beautiful compared to the supermarket versions) – Marketmore is the trial this time.

Leeks – quite excited about this Northern Lights variety – it must be the photographer in me!

Leeks

Pak Choi – if I can keep the slugs off, a great veg

Pumpkins – various

Spinach – I’m going to try this tape system in 2015

Spinach

Sweetcorn – a baby one (snobaby) and a fast growing one to cope with the British weather (in the past I’ve chosen varieties which don’t seem to have matured quickly enough – result, much disappointment).

Tomatoes – I’m going to try to find some heritage varieties.

Lots of Salad Leaves

As for Flowers – I’ve ordered some more snowdrops and some sweet peas from Sarah Raven plus I’m starting to buy a few packets – Spanish Flag, Californian Poppies, Lupins, Hollyhocks and Sunflowers so far.

Here’s the plot just now – not so pretty. But hopefully it will be transformed by summer!

Plot

Leave a Reply

