Quilts / Rain / Mud / Bothy

This seems a strange combination I know. But there was a quilt exhibition celebrating Kaffe Fassett at Standen. It was a miserable day. Wet & horrible. Spring in reverse, as it goes sometimes. The day after those lovely sunny pics from Sissinghurst.

I was superkeen to see the quilt exhibition. (I have loved fabrics since I realised mum’s boxes at the bottom of the wardrobe held a multitude of patterns and colours). There was some fantastic embroidery – I think actually I liked that more. In this world of Pinterest and blogs, the quilts were not as exciting as I expected – but of course in their day they were absolutely cutting edge. Some of the colours were really vibrant, that was certainly undiminished!

I also had a look at the bothy. A temporary art installation by Will Shannon. It was modest – so much in life isn’t modest any more – it’s brash and loud and wants constant attention. Instead this sits more quietly – it needs engagement and investigation, and doesn’t give up it’s secrets of comfort and cosiness so readily. Maybe we need a bit more of this feeling….

 

 

 

One thought on “Quilts / Rain / Mud / Bothy”

Leave a Reply

